Week 2: Personal experiences with Communication Technology

I have been using the new communication technologies such as texting, Facebook and various applications within my smart phone since I was 11 years old. At first it was just to communicate with my circle of friends at school but then it expanded to communication with my family as I grew older and became more independent. Honestly, it is a great way to inform your parents of your whereabouts (when you remember to) but can also limit ‘REAL LIFE’ social contact with your loved ones. Privacy is an issue when using new technologies because I prefer to keep my personal information to myself and to those whom I know in real life. Although Facebook claims to have efficient and protected privacy policies in place. Berteau (2007, para 15) states that “… before Facebook can determine whether the user is logged in, some data may be transferred from the participating site to Facebook. In those cases, Facebook does not associate the information with any individual user account, and deletes the data as well”. In saying that I do communicate with a few people who I have never met in person before, sometimes I think this form of communication (when controlled) is a positive experience and can aid ones social skills (conversational). I think the Internet and how it collects information regarding its users is a scary concept, although in saying that, the companies may collect such information to ensure the safety of their own product, business and overall success. Overall I think that using these communication technologies has improved my social skills but has hindered relationships with those I am closest too, due to the amount of time that is consumed by these applications and websites.

Referencing List:

Stefan Berteau November 30, 2007. “Update: A Statement From Facebook”CA Security Advisor Research Blog. Retrieved December 8, 2010 <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_Facebook#Privacy_concerns&gt;

Leave a Reply

